Kripalu Moment

This post is part of Reverb10, a project that provides daily prompts in the month of December to help you reflect on the past year and set your intentions for the year ahead. 

Today’s prompt:
Pick one moment during which you felt most alive this year. Describe it in vivid detail (texture, smells, voices, noises, colors)

I am leaving Kripalu, a yoga and retreat center in the western Berkshires. I finally had that breakthrough I was looking for, and now it’s time to leave. The sky is a cold, pale blue after a week of gray, mottled with clouds that are there to add texture, depth. A few days earlier I went for a walk in the woods, splashes of yellow leaves on otherwise naked branches, then later read about bear spottings in the area. The things we do when we don’t know to be afraid.

But this moment, here – I have known sadness, I have known fear, and now there is peace. In my jeans, tshirt and burgundy sweater, tapestried scarf hanging long, I feel – like myself. “At ease, soldier” – I am at ease. Light. I have relaxed this week, truly relaxed, and allowed all the junk to surface; looked it square in the eye, sweat it out, and emerged clear on the other side…

What would I do if I saw a bear in the woods?

The cab driver takes my suitcase and I slide onto the soft, cool, tan seat of his sedan, with copies of Travel and Leisure and Forbes tucked into the backs of the front seats for my reading pleasure, a box of tissues on the ledge behind my head, just in case. Outside sits the circle driveway that greeted me only six days earlier, ready as another new girl pulls up and it begins again. Unload the suitcases, give her the tour.

Connected. That’s how I feel. To myself, to you, to the lake I watched each day here with mist rising, sunbeams cracking through clouds. To my heart pounding, to my breath rising and falling, to my belly fat, to my toenails with the chipped black polish.

My scarf hangs long and keeps me warm and safe as we turn onto the main road, and the driver asks, “So – how was Kripalu?”

Read more about my Kripalu experience.


  Subscribe by RSS  |     Subscribe by Email

9 thoughts on “Kripalu Moment

  1. oh, sugar. thank you for tweeting me and pointing the way for me. not only is this wicked good writing, it's something i long for, that peace, that ease. we actually have much in common. i'm gonna' enjoy spending this month (and beyond) with you!

    Like

  2. Hi, fellow #reverb10-er … I loved in particular your noting the new girl pulling up and how you felt connected – and the ending with the driver asking you how it went. And now I want to read more about your experience! Bookmarking.

    Like

  3. Jeanne, thanks so much for stopping by! I long for that peace too…once you've tasted it, you want MORE. Which I think its a good thing, propelling me toward some changes in 2011…tell me more about what we have in common!Mari, I just hopped over to your blog and am so glad to be connected. I like your word for 2011, "practice" – one of the biggest lessons I've learned from yoga is that life is about showing up, trying and observing, then doing it all again the next day. In other words – practice. I look forward to reading more of your writing!

    Like

  4. Lovely piece! And I appreciate the comment about showing up for life every day. The thing about the bear in the woods? If you are truly in your environment you are part of it – no fear, no bear.

    Like

Leave a Reply

