Ode to Being Different

This post is part of Reverb10, a project that provides daily prompts in the month of December to help you reflect on the past year and set your intentions for the year ahead. 

Sign that says Definitely DifferentPhoto by ClintJCL on Flickr

Today’s prompt:
Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up.

Oh boy, this one’s easy.

Wow, that sounded arrogant.

Bear with me.

I’m different because I insist on living a meaningful life. I’m different because I can’t stand auto-pilot. I’m different because I haven’t watched commercials in about 10 years – before there was TiVo, I used to mute them, and then I started taping all the shows I watched… a make-shift Tivo experience. I HATE COMMERCIALS. When I worked at PBS and they were talking about bringing ads to PBS.org (which they did), I was a voice of dissent, because I think it’s so important to preserve non-commercial spaces in our lives. I love guerrilla campaigns like this one to take back our public spaces.

I’m different because at the age of 33 I relocated to a new city – not for a job, or school, but because deep in the core of my very being, I needed to know what it felt like to live somewhere else. Now I know, and it’s been a whole lot harder than I expected — but I feel like I’m a richer, stronger person for having done it. Plus, I didn’t really have a choice, as hard as it was to leave the incredible community of people I loved. That’s what I mean by different — the yearning in me was that strong, that even though my life was great, I had to answer the call for change..

I’m different because I can rarely stay awake past midnight. I fall asleep at parties. Once I fell asleep on my feet at the Rock and Roll Hotel in Washington, DC because the band went on late. My friends Tanya and Alex are curating a series of photos, “Amanda sleeps…”

I’m different because I say hi to every dog I meet on the street, and I don’t care if you hear me using my baby voice with Cosmo. Actually, I’m different because it takes a WHOLE lot to embarass me. I’m different because for me, it’s easier to go on stage without a script than with one.

I’m different because I fell in love at age 17, and I knew, deep in my bones, that he was my soul mate – and I was right.

And how do I light people up? There’s this energy inside of me, this radiance, and when I’m happy – it can fill a room.

Here’s the thing: so can you.

14 thoughts on “Ode to Being Different

  1. You guys! (or should I say, ladies) — You are good for a girl's ego. But more importantly, it's a wonderful feeling to say "here's who I am, world!" and have so many people say, "I like it!" Really. Thank you, from the bottom of my heart.Supercat, my move a few hundred miles north pales in comparison to your move from the UK to the Andes (do I have that right??). How did you decide to take that particular plunge?And Donna, where did you relocate to/from at 30? Thanks again, everyone 🙂

    Like

  2. Amanda, this was so much fun to read. I shied away from this prompt because I'm not sure what to say… without sounding arrogant or as if I'm the only person who ever dared/thought/tried X. But ya know, we all know what we think of other people and we don't often get to see how other people see themselves. I might just try this prompt now. Thanks for daring to tell us who you are to y ourself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

