You Would See, The Biggest Gift Would Be From Me, And The Card Attached Would Say…

Shit. What would the card say?

Oh, right.

“Thank you for being a friend.”

Awww.

I’ve written a lot about friendship as part of this Reverb 10 project (here and here). And today’s prompt asks me to write about it again:

“How has a friend changed you or your perspective on the world this year? Was this change gradual, or a sudden burst?” (courtesy of Martha Mihalick).

My first instinct was to skip this one – it felt redundant, and I said as much on Twitter. But then fellow Reverb-er Svasti gently nudged me forward:

Ok, Svasti. You’ve shamed me into writing the damn post.

No, seriously – thank you. In retrospect, how ridiculous, to think I could only write about friendship once, or twice, but not possibly THREE times. I’m realizing that I’m doing a lot of work evaluating each prompt’s worth, instead of just writing the damn posts.

So.

Christina and Greg. They areGreg and Christina looking adorable on the NYC subway the friends who changed me this year. They came to visit for Thanksgiving, and brought with them a burst of positivity that made me hyper-aware of how negative Jordan and I had become. I found myself lapping up their sunshine, and within a day or two of their arrival (they stayed for five days, and I never got sick of them, if that gives you a sense of how much I like these people), I starting aping their style. And goddamn if it didn’t feel great.

As I’ve shared, 2010 was a tough year, but Greg and Christina helped me detox. Like doing a cleanse, but with less poop.

(I can’t believe I just wrote the word “poop.” This Reverb thing really does have me trying new things…)

Interesting, isn’t it – this tendency of mine to be combative with the writing prompts, making things harder than they need to be… and a story about letting go of negativity… seems like I do a lot of getting in my own way. (We all do, right?) I think I’m ready to start being my own supporter, instead; my own…friend.

I’d be a bad friend if I didn’t mention that Greg and Christina are kick-ass real estate agents in Washington, DC. They helped Jordan and me sell our rowhouse for a great price in the fall of 2009 in under 30 days, so…yeah. Oh, and next month, they’re getting married. 🙂

This post is part of Reverb10, a project that provides daily prompts in the month of December to help participants reflect on the past year and set intentions for the year ahead.

2 thoughts on “You Would See, The Biggest Gift Would Be From Me, And The Card Attached Would Say…

  1. Awe! I feel so loved. Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about us. We feel the same way about you and Jordan. Such an inspiring couple with a marriage we aspire to! Could not be happier that you two will be standing up there (and officiating the ceremony) at our wedding! Love you guys!

    Like

Leave a Reply

