Should.

This post is part of Reverb 10, a project that provides daily prompts in the month of December to help you reflect on the past year and set your intentions for the year ahead. 

Ah, the wisdom of tattoos…

What should you have done this year but didn’t because you were too scared, worried, unsure, busy or otherwise deterred from doing? (Bonus: Will you do it?) – from Jake Nickell

“Shoulds” are dangerous for me. I used to live my whole life as a Should. What SHOULD I do to make other people happy, what SHOULD I do to be a good person, what SHOULD I do to be perfect. (This is why I’m terrified of seeing Black Swan – as a recovering perfectionist, it sounds perfectly horrifying.)

But I’ll take the prompt in the spirit in which it was offered and say, I should have practiced yoga more this year. I love yoga, but sometimes, I’m a Bad Yogi. I think about going to class, more than I actually go. Then, once I make it to the studio — light floods in, and life, and I feel so rejuvenated, the rush of joy at reconnecting with myself… and I wonder, why the hell didn’t I do this sooner?

Avoidance.

Of course, yoga is more than the physical practice of postures. I believe my writing is a form of yoga. And mindfulness, and meditation…these are all casual practices of mine in everyday life. I’d like to make them more formal practices, and see how that feels.

In 2011, I want to set a goal for myself: “Go to X yoga classes a week.” I hate goals like this, because they make me feel trapped, but the extent to which I’m resisting this one in particular tells me it’s probably pretty important. I’m still reflecting on the value of X. Any ideas?

I know this would be easier for me if I had a buddy, or two, or three… a group of people all trying to have a more regular yoga practice in the new year. Any takers? Or, anyone know of a website or other resource that might help me follow through?

Thanks!

Photo above by Flickr user Elmo Keep (which, by the way, is a terrific name…)

One thought on “Should.

  1. yes, me too I think this is the only resolution I'm taking this year as I'm not a person to take resolutions. 2010 wasn't really a good year and my yoga practise was a little left behind…in 2009 I started yoga and I did it 4 times a week during an hour at home and I loved it but I find it a little hard to keep it going during winter as I only like to practise yoga in the morning and after some time I just couldn't wake up in the morning and seeing it was still dark to make yoga…but I'm with you, I'll start as soon as I can (I'm recovering from a little leg chirurgy) which I think it will be by the end of the month.Yoga helps me to "feel me" more, to unstress me, to control my feelings and body, it was a very important moment with myself that I miss a lot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

