Rediscovered Wisdom

There’s a wonderful article in the October issue of Yoga Journal about using yoga to help you navigate major life changes, penned by the always-wise Sally Kempton. (I’d link to it, but it doesn’t seem to be online just yet.) I read the article this morning over breakfast, and found it so deeply reassuring, even though nothing in the article was brand new to me; the concepts were all familiar, and yet the power of Kempton’s words washed over me as if I were lying in savasana (final resting pose) at the end of a particularly yummy yoga class.

It’s amazing, isn’t it, the power of rediscovering wisdom? We know something to be true, but then to read another person’s articulation of that truth — not only does it make us feel less alone, it also gives us the gift of coming home to the truth as if discovering it again for the first time.

That’s why I write: To feel less alone, and to make others feel less alone. To give and receive comfort.

What is the most comforting thing you’ve read recently? What author makes you feel less alone?

Leave a comment