Word.

It’s that time of year again — time for the Reverb project, a daily writing challenge/invitation to reflect on the year behind me and set my intentions for the year ahead. I’ve been looking forward to Reverb as a chance to slow down and reflect, and also as a way to jump start my blogging after a sporadic publishing schedule this fall.

Here we go!

Today’s prompt:

One Word. Encapsulate the year 2011 in one word. Explain why you’re choosing that word.
Now, imagine it’s one year from today, what would you like the word to be that captures 2012 for you?

My word for this year is: tired. I know that’s not very inspirational, but it’s how I feel. I spent a lot of the year feeling drained (and un/under-employed). Then I got pregnant, which, if you haven’t heard, tends to tucker a person out. And I’ve been dealing with some personal stuff that’s taken its toll.

BUT. But. After 18 months of underwhelm and struggle on the employment front, I have a new gig these days with a client I LOVE: Clean Plates, a guide to healthy, sustainable, delicious eating in NYC (and soon… nationwide). I’m their managing editor and it is so much fun. I feel so fortunate to have a gig aligned with my personal values, that makes use of my innate strengths. Yay. I’m also still writing about innovation in public media, and doing some work for the Paley Center for Media. So, all is well (very well) on this front.

And… I feel the pregnancy-induced exhaustion waning as my second trimester gets into gear… and the emotional exhaustion is slowly but surely shedding like an old, unwanted layer of skin.

It’s time for rebirth. Renewal.

And so that’s my word for 2012: The year I have a baby. The year I get over these past couple of challenging years. The year where I allow myself to be renewed, inside and out. Renewal. I will be renewed.

3 thoughts on “Word.

  1. Lovely. WHat an adventure you are on. It is so worth it. One never knows until THEY are the ones on that adventure! Just wait till your energy kicks back in in the 2nd trimester! You'll be buzzing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

