Sometimes, No One Signs Up.

Photo by Tim SamoffIf an e-course falls in a forest, does it make a sound? 

I’ve been busy for the past few months expanding my business, Good Things Consulting (part of my commitment to leaning in), and as part of that expansion, I decided to offer an e-course. “Telling Your Story Online,” I called it. It would harness everything I’ve learned in 16+ years as an adult, artist, digital strategist and consultant to help people figure out the story they want to tell the world, and then, how to tell that story in a compelling, authentic and strategic way. It would do this through a series of weekly audio lessons and worksheets, with me offering support through a private Facebook group and optional coaching sessions. 

Dazzling, eh? 

“Learn from the former director of PBS.org,” I crowed on Twitter. “I’m a SXSW audience favorite!,” I reminded people on LinkedIn. 

I’ve been promoting the course for over a month at this point, and so far, two people have signed up.

Now, if you’re a glass-is-half-full kind of person, you might say, “Wow, two people paid $299 each to take this course with you, Amanda. That’s great.”

But if you’re me, you’d say, “Stop patronizing me.” And then it would get really confusing because you (I) would be talking to your(my) self. 

Let me try again: I’m grateful to the two people who signed up. I really am. And class isn’t scheduled to start until September 15th, so hey, maybe I’ll get the 10-15 students I was hoping for at the outset of this little adventure. But it doesn’t look like it. 

Is it quitting to look something in the eye and decide it just isn’t going to work? Or is it being realistic? 

Here are some of my thoughts as September 15th approaches:

  • I’ll cancel the course and refund my two students their money.
  • I was trying to cram too much into the course. I’ve been offering a test version of the course this summer, for free, and a lot of people who were gung-ho at the outset have kind of trailed off as the weeks progressed. I think I’m overwhelming people. I need to pull this course apart into smaller, less overwhelming chunks. And each chunk can be cheaper. 
  • Maybe some of this content can be packaged into an e-book. I’m also interested to try teaching some in-person workshops where I could have real-time interaction with students. 

So, I’m learning. All is not lost. It’s liberating to fail.

 

One thought on “Sometimes, No One Signs Up.

  1. Hi,Please continue with the class. From a marketer's perspective, you are in a nascent market. No one knows who you are, what you do, or the value to them. But, once those 2 have exceptional experiences with you, they will tell people. You can ask them to tell people. And, not as quickly as you like, people will begin to sign up. Who knows what an ecourse on telling your story is all about? Hardly anyone. So, you make 3 things now. 1.) A class that has value 2.) Two elated customers who will speak volumes about you 3.) A market.Thanks,John

    Like

Leave a Reply

