Meet My Friends: Lauree Ostrofsky

This is the first post in my new series, Meet My Friends. Today, meet Lauree Ostrofsky. Lauree and I met through a mutual friend, Colleen, whom we both met on Twitter, because that’s apparently how you meet people these days. We exchanged emails and decided to meet for coffee, and then proceeded to click like nobody’s business… we talked for two hours before Lauree had to go running off to catch a train. The next time we met up (this time for delicious fresh juice and vegan food at Sun in Bloom, because we’re both nerds and like that stuff)… same thing. Lauree is an author and life coach who runs a company called Simply Leap. I’ll let her tell you the rest.

Why did you start Simply Leap?

Photo of Lauree by Lisa Helfert

Photo of Lauree by Lisa Helfert

Ten years ago two important things happened that caused me to become a coach. First, working with my own coach helped me to take a six-week sabbatical (paid!) traveling through Europe. It was one of the most life-affirming things I’ve ever done, and it came together effortlessly once I was brave enough to ask for it.

Second, a year later, I was diagnosed with a brain tumor. It was devastating. Nearly everything changed after that, mostly for the better. I became more thoughtful about my choices, and one of them was to help other people see how much is possible, even when life throws you curve balls.

Simply Leap, LLC was born not long after.

What is the most rewarding feedback you’ve gotten?

When I began ending my emails to clients with Love, one responded with “Love (and I really mean it!).” It feels so good when a working relationship can turn into a loving, fulfilling friendship — where we also do great work!

Who is your ideal client?

Excellent question! I ask my clients that one a lot, because a good segment of them want to work for themselves.

My ideal client is an A-student at life. She pays her bills on time, is conscientious about her work, and loyal to her friends. She calls me when something big happens, or she wants to make a big change, and perhaps for the first time in her life doesn’t know where to start.

What’s the hardest thing about being a coach?

Separating my thoughts from my client’s situation. Ask any coach and they will say that clients tend to show up with whatever they are working on in their own lives. When that happens you have to make sure that the questions you ask are in service of the client, not you.

What’s really amazing is that when I help a client navigate through something I am also struggling with, fully focusing on them the whole time, their process provides a fresh perspective.

In other words, don’t make it about you, and suddenly your problem gets easier to solve when you return to it.

What’s your favorite way to spend a Saturday morning?

Can I change my answer to Sunday morning? (Editor’s note: Yes. I’ll allow it.) There is something so dreamy about going on an early morning walk (farm market shopping optional), curling up with the Sunday New York Times and a big cup of hot cocoa, and then taking a long nap with the sun streaming through the windows.

Favorite quote?

“Tomorrow is a new day with no mistakes in it,” from Anne of Green Gables, one of my all-time favorite guilty pleasures.

Learn more about Lauree and Simply Leap, and stay tuned to meet more of my friends :).

Leave a Reply

