Love Affair with Sleep

 

The PIT (a comedy theater here in NYC) just launched a new online publication, The PITizen, and I’m pleased as punch to have my writing featured in the flagship issue. Read my piece.
The theme of the first edition is “Love.” I thought it would be fun to submit something, so I asked myself, “What do I love?” And I thought of my family and friends, and writing, and improv, and yoga… and I thought of bed.
Those who’ve ever spent an evening with me know that I turn into a pumpkin by 11pm, and that I love sleep with an unholy love. And I don’t just love it; I excel at it. I will outsleep you any day of the week. I’ve fallen asleep on my feet at the Rock and Roll Hotel in Washington, DC, and on a bench on the side of the highway in the Outer Banks, North Carolina, while my friend and her family shopped for souvenirs. 
Getting out of bed in the morning, I think to myself, “Until we meet again, lover.”
So here’s my contribution to Pitizen, A Relationship in Three Parts, in which I imagine a character who takes her love of her bed to the next level.
Sweet dreams, everyone.
Amanda

 

 

Leave a Reply

