Exploring the space between

space between

When I was spent and dumb in the first weeks of motherhood I started listening to a meditation series from Deepak Chopra.

Sitting on the weathered wooden deck of my parents’ rental home in Maine, I earnestly absorbed his instruction to tune into the spaces between my thoughts. My imagination conjured what those spaces would look like: thick honey dripped between golden bricks. But wait! Imagining the space constituted a thought. Eventually I lulled myself into a disciplined state where to avoid thinking I reminded myself not to think. But that was a thought, too.

Yesterday I was listening to a Ghazeleh Lowe from the Academy of Intuition and she, too, mentioned the potency of the space between thoughts. Her Here & Now program prompts us to learn how to be in the present moment — to really feel it, inhabit it. The first step is to feel into our bodies, to interrupt our habit of going through each day thinking thinking thinking, without tuning into the physical form that grounds us and the energy that pulses through us.

“We are not human beings having a spiritual experience. We are spiritual beings having a human experience.”
–  French philosopher, Pierre Teilhard de Chardin

In vinyasa yoga we learn that part of the pose is the movement into it, as well as the movement out of it. The coming and going. The spaces between.

I’m in a space between all my own these days — in between professional identities, with all the heavy thinking that comes with that. My job is to be in my body and let my self assume its next shape.

The spaces between seem hard, but our job is to find the softness. To relax into it.

…To relax into ourselves.

Original background photo above courtesy of Finn Pröpper on Flickr

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

